Badlands IPA

Nelson Sauvin hops

I’m a big fan of IPAs. There is something about the hop hit you get from a well made beer that really tickles my taste buds. Recently I offered to make a beer for a good friend who was getting married. She said she liked IPAs but didn’t really like bitter beers.

I was a little confused at first but decided I would run with that to see what I came up with. I threw together some pale, crystal and biscuit malt and used a reserved amount of Cascade hops to bitter and hit it with a massive dose of Simcoe and Cascade to flavour. The end result surprised me, with a very drinkable and fruity (rather than bitter) IPA.

This is exactly what the guys at Badlands Brewery in Orange have achieved with their Badlands IPA.

The Setting

I tried this beer on two separate occasions, once at the Union Hotel and then again at the Local Taphouse. Each time I was impressed – this is a beer that gets better with repeated tastings.

The Verdict

This beer is very tasty. The flowers, resin and gooseberry aromas backed up equally by the same flavours punching the medium malty body leaving a refreshed palate with a medium finish.

It’s a solid effort, and the Nelson Sauvin hops have been used to full effect.

I tried to be hyper critical of this beer, but it just drank so easily (and it was quite a warm day) that I found myself in front of an empty glass before I could accurately appraise it. No matter. This is one of those beers you won’t have to twist my arm to drink. It’s just like an old friend; easy company for a slow afternoon.

Definitely recommended.

8.5/10

Drink If You Like….

If you like hops, but are turned off by the bitter finish of most IPAs, you will find this an intriguing and enjoyable ale. The gooseberry notes of the Nelson Sauvin hops really go a long way to mellowing out the harshness of the resin notes making it a very moreish drink.

Trivia

Nelson Sauvin is a New Zealand hop released into the market in 2000. Like the Simcoe hop (which is often used as a substitute) it imparts a very “fresh” feel to beers which is described by the producers as a “cold climate white wine fruitiness”.

The complexity of the oils and flavour profile make it a very versatile hop and it can be found in anything from summery lagers to hoppy ales.

Leave a comment